Ommmmoment

What a greatly awfully busy week I had. I started off sick for two days and was thrown off on lessons and makeup work because of it. I missed a test that was hard and I didn’t get my math lesson, so I was very stressed. As all the things I was stressed about started flowing through my mind we began a lesson on what anxiety is in physiology class. 

Anxiety is normal. If you’re about to compete or take a test, it is ok to feel a little queasy and have your hands start to sweat; this is a physiological response. Anxiety becomes an issue when these feelings don’t stop and inhibit daily life. My teacher expressed how she noticed higher anxiety among our generation than hers due to how competitive college is. Then she taught my favorite lesson yet, how to meditate. 

We began with the 4 by 4 breathing technique: breathe in through your nose for 4 seconds, hold it for 4 seconds, breathe out through your mouth for 4 seconds, hold it for 4 seconds again, and then repeat. We spent two 10 minute periods of class time meditating. What were the results ? I felt less stressed about the rest of my day. By learning how to meditate in class I want to transfer it into meditating outside of schoool as a way to destress. 

Leave a Reply

